10 Things You Need in Your Gym Bag

Gym Blog

Hitting the gym after work usually means a full Pilates class, only a few treadmills, or maybe the parking lot is a mad house! What’s even more stressful? Realizing you left your socks at home. Whether you wore heels all day or rocked the cutest pair of sandals, getting to the gym only to realize you have left your socks at home is not an enjoyable experience. Believe me, I have done this and running barefoot in gym shoes is not a good idea!

During one of our daily chats in the Blaine Bowen office we discusses some of the items we NEED in our gym bag. From an extra pair of socks, to the much needed deodorant, there were a lot of items we found extremely necessary. We limited ourselves to the top 10 items we need and have compiled them in a list for you all. Hopefully you will find that our gym bag essentials will be the perfect ‘equipment’ for your gym bag too.

1. Socks

Get them! Pack them! Store them! One pair of socks is not going to weigh down your bag. If anything it will save you a headache in the future if you forget a pair! We love these socks from Victoria’s Secret. This set come with 6 multi-colored pairs for $29.50. If you don’t want to keep them in your bag, store a pair in your car. Stick them in the glove box and wait for they day you’ll be thankful you have them!

 2. Hair Tie and Bobby Pins

These little guys live in every nook, cranny, and pocket of my life! The best part is, when I need one they are there! Whether you throw one of these in the bottom of your gym bag or have an entire cosmetic bag full, you’ll be prepared!

3. Headphones/Earbuds

A lot of people enjoy listening to music while they exercise. Personally, I like to listen to podcasts while I run. Maybe your gym has televisions you can plug into and run while watching your favorite show. Either way, when the moment comes and you’d like to enter ‘the zone’ and escape to your own personal concert, you will be happy you have a pair of headphones! If you need some new headphones or earbuds, check out this website!

4. Deodorant

No one likes being on the treadmill next to a stink bomb. Do yourself and others a favor and pack a travel size deodorant stick in your gym bag. We know you will use this once or twice at the gym! No one every got mad because you smelled nice.

5. Water Bottle

I am a water guzzler at the gym! I refill my water bottle at least 2 times per workout. You can always drink from the water fountain or buy a water bottle at the gym, but just try and remember your own. You are already paying for a gym membership, you don’t need to pay them for water too! This adorable Lorna Jane water bottle has a fun, positive message that we love!

6. Snack

Pack whatever you need to get yourself from point A to point B without stopping at McDonalds! It never fails, after an intense workout I crave nothing more than a McDonalds burger and fries! Not only that, but I could probably eat 3 of each! To keep me focused I need a snack. Whether it is a Luna Bar or an apple and sun nut butter, I need something. For more post-workout snack ideas check out this awesome website.

7. A Lock

If your gym has lockers with built in locks, then lucky you! For the rest of us we may need to bring a lock to make sure our things don’t get stolen! Sadly, I have experienced this first hand. I had my purse stolen at the gym when I forgot my lock. My bank actually called me while I was running on the treadmill to check suspicious charges that had occurred 5 minutes prior. The bank was on it! I sadly, was not.. Second, there are a lot of different locks out there. I have one that spells whatever word you would like it to. My work of choice for a gym lock? ‘SLEEP’… what I want after an intense workout!

8. Lip Balm

Before my workout and after, I need my lip balm! You can always tell when I have left a room because you will probably find my lip balm somewhere. That being said, my gym bag has 5 different brand of lip balm because I need to ensure myself that I have one… I know, it’s a problem!

9. Makeup Remover

We understand that you want to look fabulous every moment of the day, but it’s the gym. At the gym you will most likely sweat and runny concealer isn’t the prettiest look. My personal favorites are the Neutrogena Cleansing Wipes. They smell wonderful and I can keep them in my gym bag or car.

My other favorite makeup remover is in my purse at all times. These little Q-Tips from Sephora are filled with eye-makeup remover. You snap the end of them and the liquid fills one of the cotton tips. Simply swipe under your eyes and goodbye mascara shadow! Whoever invited these is a GENIUS. You can purchase a set of 20 for $7.00.

10. Extra Clothes

You know it’s a good workout when you feel like your sweating EVERYWHERE! That might not be the most enjoyable ride home though. Just in case you have a long ride home or if you don’t want to be seen looking like you’re drenched, pack an extra set of clothes. We love this shirt from Victoria Secret. It is breathable and comes in a ton of awesome colors!

Looking for more gym ideas? Blaine Bowen has you covered!

Click here for more post-workout snacks, workout routines, and gym bag essentials!

 

 

Leave a Reply

